Hairs on the Back of My Neck……!

2006-01-15c.jpg

We have all had those strange moments when the hairs on the back of the neck stand up and a chill runs down the back. Its due mainly to the realisation momentarily, that “…there but for the grace of God go I…” or the hearing of strange tales that make you wonder “…how would I react to that?….”

On ecparamedics blog Social Dispatch his post on “Ghosts” reminded me of a patient that I went to last year. The gentleman in question was a tetra-plegic, paralysed in all four limbs from the neck down. He was, and still is, lovingly cared for by his wife of many years. We were asked to admit him to a local hospital for treatment for a chest infection.

The reason for the paralysis was due to a serious RTC during the 1960s involving two HGVs. He was the driver of one of the lorries. Against all the odds he had survived horrendous injuries which unfortunately cut short his future career in the Police. He had just enlisted and was awaiting joining instructions.

It was whilst talking to his wife about the gentlemans condition in general that she related to me a very strange and totally bizzare event that had occurred recently. They had taken a holiday abroad and had boarded the plane ready for take off. He was sat towards the rear of the aircraft to accommodate his disability and was chatting to a fellow passenger.

Unbelievably…..this fellow passenger sat next to him was the driver of the other lorry that had crashed into him over 40 years ago! And he still carried a small picture of the crash scene in his wallet as his life had hung in the balance too!

What would I have done or said in a situation like that?

I hope I never have to find out!

 

9 Responses to Hairs on the Back of My Neck……!

  1. Bloody hell!
    Now, religious folks would say that was down to some higher purpose.
    Me, I’m a great believer in coincindence.

  2. ecparamedic says:

    Flippin’ heck, I’m an inspiration! 🙂

    I have a similar ‘small world’ event but the situation was so unique it would be hard/impossible to maintain confidentiality.

    It does make the old hairs stand up though.

    SD

  3. traineeparamedic says:

    I think its one of those nice stories that you hear about. Not the accident obviously, i’m sure it would have been horrendous, but for these 2 men to meet up after such a long time must have been a special, albeit strange day.

  4. nicenurse says:

    doo doo doodoo, doo doo doodoo (twighlight zone theme tune…… obviously!!)

  5. Lucy says:

    Really does make you wonder whether there is some kind of connectedness. The Paramedics Diary blog had one too recently (13th Jan) and I swithered about commenting on it in case I sounded a bit brown rice and etherial (which would ruin my cynical credentials).

    The older I get I realise that many colleagues have also had a number of instances of small, med or distinctly spooky coincidences which get put down to happenstance . Therefore I reckon even the most skeptical of us ends up pausing, even if only briefly, to let the thought and shiver run through us that things might not be as random as they appear.

    Lucy

  6. Nick says:

    Call me a cynic – I don’t believe in “supernatural events” like this, but damn, that’s spooky!

    Great looking blog,

    Regards
    Nick
    http://nickhough.blogspot.com

  7. Otana says:

    Wow! I’m a bit late (I haven’t been keeping up with blogs lately) but my jaw dropped open at this. What an amazing coincidence.

  8. Jonathan says:

    Absolutely incredible.

    An online Canadian friend of mine has a similar story to tell. She was in a serious MVA and, with a severe leg injury, arrested in the ambulance from blood loss. Unbelievably (thankfully) CPR was successful before they’d replaced the fluid, and recovered. She then took someone out for a cup of coffee and, chatting to this woman, found out she’d also been in an accident: the woman in the other car had died. She hasn’t: she was talking to her.

  9. Kristin says:

    My brother recommended I may like this web
    site. He was once entirely right. This submit truly
    made my day. You can not imagine just how so much time
    I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a comment