England…!

I would vote this to replace our national anthem!

It brings a tear to either eye and a lump to the throat…

Anyone have another choice?

10 Responses to England…!

  1. Emma says:

    Excellent choice, couldn’t agree more…..xx

  2. Louise says:

    Nooo! We need something that isn’t going to send a nation into coma by the time its finished!!

    I’m with Billy Connolly…………….. The theme tune from The Archers!

  3. Caroline says:

    It seriously brings tears to my eyes – most embarrassing

  4. kingmagic says:

    Emma…this was my first choice but…

    Louise…I remember the sketch and probably agree…

    Caroline…It is a really evocative piece…….

    but with hindsight what about Twisted Fire Starter by The Prodigy?

  5. martyn says:

    Land of Hope & Glory?

  6. Petrolhead says:

    I absolutely adore Jarusalem, I first heard it when I was a kid and it was on Goodnight Mr Tom, that brought tears to my eyes even as a 7 year old! But…….the Archers theme tune is also very English. I like it. Hate the actual programme, but love the theme tune!

  7. Way OT, but thought you might enjoy this:

    http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/10/07/night-shift-medics/#comment-91975

    Jeff Spencer is my old medic partner, and then I was his boss, all those years ago.

  8. Now, on-topic: I like the Emerson, Lake and Palmer version better. Better tempo.

  9. kingmagic says:

    Martyn…this land is just that! All we can do is hope that things get better!

    Petrolhead…I do agree with Billy Connollys idea of having a better National Anthem. I think Jerusalem just conjures up thoughts and memories of the good things about England which is no bad thing.

    Mr. Nighttime…Read the link…permanent nights, not sure about that idea? Good article though.
    ELP?…I think Queen, We Are The Champions would be better?

  10. “Mr. Nighttime…Read the link…permanent nights, not sure about that idea? Good article though.”

    Some people are vampires…My brother is one. He has worked nights as long as I can remember.

    “ELP?…I think Queen, We Are The Champions would be better?” – Uh, I love Queen, but I don’t know about that. ;-) I have the Live at Wembley (sp?) concert on DVD. Wish I had an opportunity to see them, but didn’t. My brother saw them 4 times at Madison Square Garden.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

