Ratticus Arsesius

Cuddley Furry Friend

The night shift went like all the others…..drunks, fights, vehicle thefts with injuries after crashing, lots of GP admissions where the doctor had not even bothered to turn out and see the patient resulting in inappropriate admissions to A/E, a woman who was quite literally trying to “Bark at the Moon” and a couple of genuine medical emergencies.

It never ceases to amaze me how alcohol dulls the senses and renders all semblence of intelligence inert for the duration. And the experience of drinkers and their friends/family who believe that they can drink vast quantities of alcohol with out collapsing.

Not Emma...she assures me!

The usual statements are:

  • “She/he can hold her/his beer!” “
  • He/she never gets drunk, hes/shes a hardened drinker!”
  • “Her/his drink must have been spiked!”
  • “It must of been something they ate!”
  • “Naw! Hes/shes not drunk much…let me see, hes/shes had twelve pints, eight whiskies I think, a couple of brandies and some cider. Oh and some vodka before we left the house to go out!”

So I found myself trying to tell the husband of a woman who was completely “Ratarsed”  that the reason she had vomitted and was unsteady on her feet was due to the copious amounts of beer/wine/vodka and other assorted shorts that she had consumed.

But he was also ratarsed and I found myself in a scene from “Groundhog Day” repeating myself over and over that his wife can not always drink that amount and remain standing! Even if she is “a big lass!”  He kept on asking and asking over and over again “Whats wrong with her?”  So I told him…”Your wife is suffering from Ratticus Arsesius and will recover in the morning!”

A Real Scary Mary...!

Its one thing drinking and getting drunk but its another when its the sole purpose of a night out! My nights out are starting to consist of a few pints of Guinness, a game of shove ha’penny, a chuck on the arra’s at the battered dart board and a pie & pea supper on the way home. Marvellous!

As opposed to my youthful days down at the local “Discotheque”  strutting my stuff in my bright blue “Oxford Bags”  and having the odd fistcuffs with the kid who “was looking at my bird!”  But it was all good clean fun and the pubs shut at proper times.

But thats another story…..

 

10 Responses to Ratticus Arsesius

  1. Emma says:

    I told you not to publish that picture, what have you done to my reputation now?…..lol

  2. But Emma, which picture do you mean? 1,2, or 3?
    Picture one has nice whiskers

  3. Emma says:

    Probably 2..lol..

  4. kingmagic says:

    I think in some quarters it may be said that reputations would have been enhanced with a pic like that.
    Marvellous!

  5. Bendy Girl says:

    Publishing the family photos again big bro ;)

  6. Louise says:

    I’ve lost count already of the amount of times I’ve used the phrases:

    “Your not dying…………your pissed””

    “No he’s not unconscious……..watch…………I’ll prove it” (while pulling a OP airway out of the bag)

    “Ok……..now I need to know how much you’ve really had to drink………. Ok so is that 2 glasses or 2 bottles of vodka”

    “No I can’t just take you home…….I need to take you to A&E to waste their time instead”

    “If your going to vomit, warn me, or I’m making you clean it up”

    Oh the joys of weekend night shifts!

  7. kingmagic says:

    Lil sis…which one? x

    Louise…my turn this weekend, going to get ratted!

  8. John says:

    Can I use one of the images on your site? its the two standing paramedics.

    Regards

    John

  9. John you might need to use the magic word!

  10. kingmagic says:

    John feel free. Thanks for asking.

    Km.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

